Abingdon Theatre Company
Abingdon Theatre Company
Abingdon Theatre Company
Abingdon Theatre Company
>  Home >  Get Involved   > Playwrights

Christopher Brian Wolk Award

Abingdon Theatre Company to present its 2015 Christopher Brian Wolk Award
to playwright Jordan Ramirez Puckett for her script RESTORE

Award Ceremony and Staged Reading 
set for Monday, December 14 at 7:00pm
in the June Havoc Theatre (312 West 36th Street)

Abingdon Theatre Company proudly announces that San Francisco-based playwright Jordan Ramirez Puckett will receive its 2015 Christopher Brian Wolk Award for her play RESTORE. A presentation of the award and staged reading of the play is set for Monday, December 14, at 7:00pm in the June Havoc Theatre, 312 West 36th Street, in Manhattan.

In an ongoing effort to recognize excellence in playwriting, Abingdon established the Christopher Brian Wolk Award to be presented annually to a writer of a full-length play not yet produced in New York City. The honor includes a $1,000 cash award and staged reading of the winning script.

In RESTORE, Amy and Kyle are a couple who meet as children, fall in love as teenagers, and seem fated to be together as adults. Their parents couldn’t be happier. But eventually their relationship shows signs of reciprocal physical and emotional abuse. One night, the escalating tension causes an unthinkable event. Over the course of the play, each character must find a way to face his or her own culpability.

Abingdon's Artistic Director Tony Speciale, whose credits include The Absolute Brightness of Leonard Pelkey and Unnatural Acts, and is set to direct the reading. Casting is to be announced.

RESTORE was nominated along with five other scripts from nearly 350 plays submitted to Abingdon during its 2014-2015 season. A selection committee comprising of actors, directors and playwrights determined the winning script through a blind selection process.

The finalists for this year's award are Michael Aman's Feeding the Bear; James Armstrong's Betty Thorpe; John Morogiello's The Consul, The Tramp and America's Sweetheart; Charlotte Sampler's Darlin'; and Lawrence Thelen's Mamma's Apple Pie.

Since 2001, the Christopher Brian Wolk Award has been given annually to playwrights for full-length scripts. The award is named after Christopher Brian Wolk, a talented and creative actor, musician, singer, writer and composer who died in an accident in National Glacier Park, Montana. To honor his memory, Abingdon and the Wolk family created the award to celebrate excellence in playwriting. Christopher worked extensively with Abingdon including both the workshop and the main stage productions of Zona, The Ghost of Greenbrier.

Now in its 23rd Season, Abingdon develops and produces new American plays by emerging and established playwrights. Under the artistic direction of Tony Speciale, who joined Abingdon in October 2015, the company provides a safe home for playwrights, directors and actors. Abingdon's 2015-2016 Season continues in February 2016 with the world premiere of A Room of My Own, written and directed by Charles Messina.

On December 11, Abingdon launches its master class series with The Solo Story Workshop, taught by actor/writer James Lecesne (TrevorThe Absolute Brightness of Leonard Pelkey).

The Christopher Brian Wolk Award ceremony honoring Jordan Ramirez Puckett and reading of RESTORE takes place on Monday, December 14, in the June Havoc Theatre (312 West 36th Street, between 8th and 9th Avenues), beginning at 7:00pm. A reception follows the staged reading. The ceremony and reception are open to the public free of charge. To make a reservation, please email literary@abingdontheatre.org

Previous Winners  

2014  Mike Bencivenga, Summer on Fire

2013  Sheldon Bull, Mallorca
Produced by Abingdon Theatre Company, May 29-June21, 2015

2012  Rob Winn AndersonThe 10th Son
2011  Jack Canfora, Poetic License
Produced by The Director's Company at 59E59 Theatre

2010  Stephen Spotswood, Aronsville Woman
Produced at Northern Kentucky University

2009  Joel Fields, How I Fell In Love
Produced by Abingdon Theatre Company , January 21-February 13, 2011

2008  Frank Tangredi, Pastoral 
         Optioned for commercial production

2007  Mark Eisman, Shove 
         Produced by The Road Theatre Company, Los Angeles, CA

2006  Tim Slover, Treasure
         Produced by Fulton Theatre, New Lancaster, PA
         and University of Utah, Salt Lake City, UT

2005  Nancy Moss, Hostage Wife 
         Produced by the Kumu Kahua Theatre in Honolulu, HA

2004  Daniel Damiano, Dreams of Friendly Aliens 
         Produced in Abingdon's 2006-2007 season

2003  Stuart Warmflash, Shortly After Takeoff  
         Produced by Harbor Lights Theatre Company, NY, NY

2002  Cheryl Royce, The Passion of Claire 
         Produced by Hudson Stage Company, Croton-on-Hudson, NY

2001  Christopher Bailey, Mandrake and the Marsh People
         Subsequently developed at Lord Leebrick Theater Company, Eugene, OR

Christopher Brian Wolk


   2014 Winner Mike Bencivenga (center),          
   Artistic Director Jan Buttram (right) and         
   Lisa Wolk (left), with (l-r, second row) Annie   

Abingdon Theatre Company